



December 26, 2022

Winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2020 have been introduced at 15 -Fifteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity

The AEON Environmental Foundation (Chairman: Motoya Okada, Chairman, and Representative Executive Officer, AEON Co., Ltd.) introduced the activities of MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2020 at the Fifteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity.

In addition, a discussion on biodiversity between Jean Lemire (Biologist, Explorer, Filmmaker/Canada) the prize winner of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2010, and Melina Sakiyama (Co-founder, Global Youth Biodiversity Network), the prize winner in 2020, was taken place at a youth event held during the COP.

The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity is a prestigious biennial international prize organized by the AEON Environmental Foundation and the CBD Secretariat, which was established in 2010 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding achievements in the conservation, sustainable use, promotion, education, and sharing of biodiversity. The SCBD and the AEON Foundation have been working together since 2010 to honor the prize and this Prize is one of the Collaborative projects.

On the occasion of COP10 being held in Nagoya, the AEON Environmental Foundation started to involve actively in biodiversity by awarding prizes. The Foundation will continue to promote environmental activities to pass on a beautiful planet full of life to future generations.

Winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2020*alphabetical order

Paul Hebert: Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph, Canada

Melina Sakiyama: Co-founder, Global Youth Biodiversity Network Founder, Cameroon Gender and Environment Watch Wirsiy Emmanuel Binyuy:

Video: https://www.aeon.info/ef/en/prize/midori/winner/







Winners introduction at COP15 of the Convention on Biological Diversity

Winners talk at the youth event

The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity; The Prize Winners

2010

Jean LemireBiologist, Explorer, Filmmaker/CanadaGretchen C. DailyProfessor, Stanford University/USA

Emil Salim Chairman of the Advisory Council to the President of Indonesia

Former Minister of State for Population and the Environment/Indonesia

Special Prize for the International Year of Biodiversity 2010

Angela Merkel Chancellor of Germany/Germany

2012

Juan Carlos Castilla Professor, Marine Ecology, Department of Ecology, Pontificia Universidad

Catolica de Chile/Chile

Rodrigo Gámez-Lobo President, Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad (INBio), Costa Rica

Vo Quy Honorary President, Center for Natural Resources Management and Environmental

Studies (CRES), Vietnam National University, Hanoi/Viet Nam

<u>2014</u>

Kamal Bawa President, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE),

Distinguished Professor, University of Massachusetts, Boston/India

Alfred Oteng-Yeboah

Bibiana Vilá

Chair, Ghana National Biodiversity Committee,/Ghana

Director, Vicuñas, Camelids and Environment (VICAM)

Principal Researcher, National Research Council (CONICET) Argentina/Argentina

2016

Alfonso Aguirre-Muñoz Executive Director, Grupo de Ecología y Conservación de Islas, A.C./Mexico

Yury Darman Director, Amur Branch, WWF Russia/Russia Vandana Shiva Founder and Director, Navdanya/India

2018

Kathy MacKinnon Chair, IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA)/U.K.

Assad Serhal Director General, Society for the Protection of Nature in Lebanon (SPNL)/Lebanon

Abdul Hamid Zakri Former Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia / Malaysia

2020

Paul Hebert Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph/Canada

Melina Sakiyama Co-founder, Global Youth Biodiversity Network/Brazil

Wirsiy Emmanuel Binyuy Founder, Cameroon Gender and Environment Watch/Cameroon

Award Ceremonies







2014 2016 2018