Outline of the Prize

Mission Statement

The engagement and collaboration of all relevant stakeholders, including citizens, governments, international organizations, non-governmental organizations, researchers and the private sector are essential to safeguard biodiversity. To promote such multi-stakeholder engagement and collaboration, the MIDORI Prize is open to every stakeholder contributing to conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity in the field of practical action, science, policy or public awareness.


Candidates are required to satisfy at least one of the following:
・Have made outstanding achievements that greatly contribute to biodiversity (Achievement)
・Have the ability to influence future activities related to biodiversity (Potential)
・Have conducted work which has impacts on various activities for biodiversity around the world (Impact).

Accomplishment will be assessed on its:

  1. ・International contribution
  2. ・Contribution to conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity
  3. ・Social contribution
  4. ・Long-term perspective and continuity
  5. ・Creativity and originality
  6. ・Civic mindedness and breadth of perspective
  7. ・Efficacy and influence.

Selection Process

Nominations are invited from members of the public worldwide. In addition, the organizers solicit nominations from a select group of invited MIDORI Prize Nominators, who are academics, scientists and other experts working on biodiversity from around the world. The Selection Committee conducts a first screening of the nominated candidates. Based on the list of candidates provided by the Selection Committee, the Judging Committee conducts further documentary examination. The winners are finally selected from the shortlisted candidates at the Judging Committee Meeting.

The Judging Committee for The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2016
(Honorifics omitted, as of 15 February 2016)

Committee Chairman

Takuya Okada
Chairman, AEON Environmental Foundation

Judges (Alphabetical order)

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias
Executive Secretary, Convention on Biological Diversity
Representative Co-organizer of the MIDORI Prize


Mariana Bellot
National Coordinator, Biodiversity Finance Initiative (BIOFIN-Mexico),
United Nations Development Program

Jae Chun Choe
Founding President, National Institute of Ecology, Korea
Distinguished Professor of EcoScience, Ewha Womans University

Kunio Iwatsuki
Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo

Daizaburo Kuroda
Senior Fellow, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies

Anne McDonald
Professor, Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies, Sophia University

Takako Takano
Professor, Center for International Education, Waseda University

Shiro Wakui
Professor, Department of Environmental and Information Studies, Tokyo City University
Vice Chairman, Japan Committee of the United Nations Decade on Biodiversity

Organization: AEON Environmental Foundation
Co-organization: Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity
Support: Ministry of the Environment, Japan