The Prize Winners

The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2010

  • Jean Lemire

    Jean Lemire
    Biologist, Explorer, Filmmaker
    Mr. Jean Lemire (b. 1962) has been contributing to raising awareness and supporting child and youth education in recognizing the importance of biodiversity and becoming involved in action to preserve life on Earth by taking advantage of his unique background as both a biologist and filmmaker.
  • Gretchen C. Daily

    Gretchen C. Daily
    United States of America
    Professor, Stanford University
    Dr. Daily (b. 1964) is a scholarly researcher in the Department of Biological Sciences at Stanford University. She has discovered the economic costs of environmental destructions, caused by human societies and their economic activities, and has contributed to the preservation of the ecosystem utilizing the concept of "ecosystem services."
  • Emil Salim

    Emil Salim
    Chairman of the Advisory Council to the President of Indonesia
    Former Minister of State for Population and the Environment
    Dr. Salim (b. 1930) has been taking a leadership role not only in Indonesian environmental policy formation and its implementation and the promotion of activities for environmental NGOs but also in international conferences on the simultaneous pursuit of environmental conservation and economic development.

Special Prize for the International Year of Biodiversity 2010

  • Angela Merkel

    Angela Merkel
    Chancellor of Germany
    Angela Merkel (b. 1954) has demonstrated strong leadership of global environmental issues including climate change and biodiversity conservation policy at national, EU and international levels as the Chancellor of Germany.