We aim to contribute to the objectives of the United Nations
Decade on Biodiversity 2011 - 2020.

The Awards for Biodiversity


In 2009, prior to the 10th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP 10) held in Nagoya in 2010, the Foundation established a domestic award, the Japan Awards for Biodiversity, together with the Ministry of the Environment. In 2010, in commemoration of its 20th anniversary, the Foundation established the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity as an international award co-organized with the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (SCBD). From 2009 and 2010, respectively, the Japan Awards and MIDORI Prize were held every two years. On the occasion of the Foundation’s 30th anniversary, in order to further address the issue of biodiversity, these domestic and international awards were unified under the name of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity, and the Foundation is stepping up its support for environmental activities relating to biodiversity.

The MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity (International Prize)

This prize was established by AEON Environmental Foundation during the 2010 International Year of Biodiversity, the Prize has been awarded to biodiversity champions in several fields, including policymaking, science and civil society, reflecting the need for a whole-of-society endeavor—a seminal principle that underpinned the design of the Biodiversity Plan and its 23 targets (to be achieved by 2023). Up to now, 19 individuals from 17 countries have received the prize.

Nominations open for 8th MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2024
Deadline: until June 15, 2024

Button of nominations

The Jpan Awards for Biodiversity (Domestic Prize)

This award was founded in 2009 ahead of the 10th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP10) held in Japan in 2010.